

To: Members of the County Council Date: 6 April 2016

Direct Dial: 01824712589

e-mail: dcc_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 12 APRIL 2016 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4 CHAIRMAN'S DIARY (Pages 5 - 6)

To note the civic engagements undertaken by the Chairman of the Council (copy attached).

5 MINUTES (Pages 7 - 16)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 23 February, 2016 (copy attached).

6 ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE ELECTION OF CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR OF COUNCIL (Pages 17 - 18)

To consider a report by the Head of Legal, HR & Democratic Services (copy attached) recommending that Council agrees the proposed Chair and Vice-Chair for the municipal year 2016/2017 to be formally elected at the Council's Annual meeting on 10 May 2016.

7 WHISTLE BLOWING POLICY (Pages 19 - 44)

To consider a report by the HR Services Manager and Recruitment Specialist (copy attached) recommending that Council agree to adopt the Whistleblowing Policy.

8 BOUNDARY REVIEW BETWEEN THE PRESTATYN CENTRAL AND MELIDEN WARDS (Pages 45 - 58)

To consider a report by the Democratic Services Manager (copy attached) seeking Council's approval of the ward boundary between Prestatyn Central Ward and Meliden Ward.

9 INDEPENDENT REMUNERATION PANEL FOR WALES ANNUAL REPORT 2016/17 (Pages 59 - 150)

To consider a report by the Democratic Services Manager (copy attached) to make Council aware of the Panel's determinations for 2016/17 in respect of payments to Members and Co-opted Members.

10 COMMITTEE TIMETABLE 2016/2017, ANNUAL REVIEW OF POLITICAL BALANCE AND APPOINTMENT OF SCRUTINY CHAIRS (Pages 151 - 172)

To consider a report by the Democratic Services Manager (copy attached) seeking decisions on Committee related issues.

11 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 173 - 176)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy attached).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Councillor Gwyneth Kensler (Chair) Councillor Ann Davies (Vice-Chair)

Ian Armstrong
Raymond Bartley
Brian Blakeley
Joan Butterfield

Jason McLellan
Barry Mellor
Win Mullen-James
Bob Murray

Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones

Bill Cowie
Meirick Davies
Stuart Davies
Peter Duffy
Hugh Evans
Peter Evans
Bobby Feeley
Carys Guy

Huw Hilditch-Roberts
Martyn Holland
Colin Hughes
Rhys Hughes
Hugh Irving
Alice Jones

Huw Jones Pat Jones

Geraint Lloyd-Williams

Dewi Owens
Merfyn Parry
Paul Penlington
Pete Prendergast
Arwel Roberts
Anton Sampson
Gareth Sandilands
David Simmons
Barbara Smith
David Smith
Bill Tasker

Julian Thompson-Hill

Joe Welch Cefyn Williams Cheryl Williams Eryl Williams Huw Williams

COPIES TO:

Press and Libraries
Town and Community Councils